Tags

, , , , , ,

image

We go grocery shopping every Monday for the upcoming week, but since we’ve been on a new budget we’ve stopped meal planning in advance.  Now, we take what produce and protein we can get and build our meals around it.  By the end of the week, however, we tend to have leftovers.  This is totally due to the fact that we no longer have a plan, so meal planning is key folks!

This Sunday I spent my day cleaning and looking for recipes to exhaust my extra fruits and veggies.  We had two large gala apples and I was scouring Pinterest for a baked apple recipe.  Something where I could cook them and just add them to recipes or oats through the week.  I thought of making apple chips, but I would get so few of them out of 2 apples.  Also thought of making pancake rings, which look yummy, but might not get eaten.

I settled on muffins.  Decided I wanted to use either coconut or whole wheat flour, maybe some Greek yogurt, few eggs, and no butter.  I did not find this elusive recipe, and I was too worried to risk my last apples on winging it.  So I found a decently healthy apple muffin recipe and modified it.

As usual I forget to take pictures, but here is the final batter before folding the apples in. Apples & Batter |Apple Whole Wheat Muffins  When your done your batter should look like this, do not over mix! Batter |Apple Whole Wheat Muffins  Fill up your baking liners or tins very near the top, the batter does not expand a lot. Before| Apple Whole Wheat Muffins  Your muffins will be yummy apple goodness when they’re done baking! Apple Whole Wheat Muffins

Apple Whole Wheat Muffins

• 1 ½ cups oats
• 1 cup all purpose flour
• ¾ cup packed brown sugar
• 1 tsp. baking powder
• ½ tsp. baking soda
• 1 tsp. of ground cinnamon
• ¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
• ¾ cup plain non-fat Greek Yogurt
• 1 ⅓ cups coconut or rice milk
• 2 egg whites or 1 whole egg
• 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
• 2 cups of peeled and diced apple

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line muffin pan with 12 baking cups or spray pan with cooking spray.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl, set aside.
  3.  In a small bowl combine Greek yogurt, milk, egg whites and oil and blend well.
  4.  Add mixture to dry ingredients and stir together until dry ingredients are moistened (don’t over-mix).
  5. Fold in apples, stirring just until combined.
  6. Bake for 18 – 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes.
  7. Enjoy! Recipe makes about 15-17 muffins.  Taste great warm.

 

