Tags

, , , , , ,

A recent development in striving towards a repurposeful life has been my diet rehab.  Not the kind of diet you go on temporarily to lose weight, but a real life change.  I hope to bring some of my healthy recipes and finds on here to share with you foods that taste really good, but may be good for you too.

Arguably my favorite meal of the day (besides dessert, haha just kidding…sort of) is breakfast.  The other day I was scouring Pinterest during my meal planning to find a healthy waffle, preferably using oats.  I found a lot of awesome results and went with my own adaptation of one.

I usually wing my recipes and never write down the amounts I’m using of each but I did my best to pay attention and make mental notes as I went along.

The batter comes out kind of lumpy and thick (forgot to take a picture) but believe me it comes out perfect in the waffle iron.  You can always add more of whatever milk you prefer to make it a bit thinner.

This recipe could also be made vegan easily by adding an egg substitute.  Hope you enjoy, and let me know if you try it.  I plan on making them again with some mini chocolate chips.

Waffles

Banana Oat Waffles (adapted from Cinnamon Oatmeal Waffles)

Ingredients

2/3 cup whole-wheat flour

¾ cup old fashioned oats

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp cinnamon

1 ripe banana

2 eggs

1-1 ¼ cup coconut milk (could use almond or cow’s milk for non-vegan)

2 tbs melted butter (can use oil for vegan)

1 tsp vanilla

Instructions

1. Preheat your waffle iron

2. Put dry ingredients in food processor and pulse until oats are ground.

3. Mash banana in medium mixing bowl and whisk 1 cup of milk with the remaining wet ingredients in bowl.

4. Add the dry ingredients and stir until smooth. If your batter is too thick for your liking, add ¼ cup of milk and stir until combined.

5. Scoop appropriate amount of batter for your waffle maker and bake as directed by your equipment.

6. Serve with 100% maple syrup, sliced bananas, or your favorite waffle topping.

Makes about 5 waffles

